PSU students receiving an OAPA planning award in 2019

Students from Portland State University receiving their award at the 2019 Conference in Eugene

Each year, the Oregon Chapter of the American Planning Association honors outstanding efforts in planning and planning leadership. We have been recognizing talented planners and their work across Oregon for over 30 years. Nominations are received and reviewed by the OAPA Awards Committee, a volunteer group of planning professionals from around the state.  Click here for a list of the past award winners.

2022 Awards

We’ve revamped our awards program this year, to better highlight the excellent work being done throughout Oregon in all areas of planning.

We invite you to nominate projects and people you think are deserving of such recognition in the following categories:

  • Professional Development
  • Advocacy
  • Community Planning
  • Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in Planning
  • Professional Achievement in Planning
  • Student Achievement in Planning
  • Career Achievement

Click here for information on the categories and criteria.

Click here for the nomination form.  If you have troubles with the nomination form, please email Stephanie Green at

 Nominations must be received by 5:00 pm on Friday, September 2, 2022.

Award presentations will be made at the 2022 OAPA Annual State Planning Conference in Pendleton, October 27-28, 2022.If you have questions, contact OAPA Chapter Administrator, Stephanie Green at or 503.626.8197.

Awards Committee Members

The OAPA board thanks the members of the Awards Committee for their hard work in recognizing the great work that our members do every year.

  • Amanda Ferguson, AICP, Chair
  • Miranda Bateschell
    Planning Director, City of Wilsonville
  • Peter Gutowsky, AICP
    Planning Manager, Deschutes County
  • Nicole Mardell, DLCD
  • Ken Pirie, AICP CUD, LEED ND
    Principal, Walker Macy
  • Erin Reome, AICP, LEED AP BD+C
    Senior Associate, Planner, and Project Manager, SERA Architects

For More Information

Contact Stephanie Green, OAPA Chatper Administrator, for more information on OAPA's Awards Program.