Board of Directors & Chapter Staff

Oregon APA is governed by a Board of Directors consisting of elected and appointed representatives. Our staff facilitates our programs and supports our volunteer committees.

Elected Officers & At-Large Members


John D. Tovey III "J.D." AICP

J.D. is Planning Director for the Umatilla Indian Reservation with past work in urban design and academia. He has been on the Board since 2018.

Immediate Past President

Aaron Ray, AICP (he/him)

Aaron leads the Aviation Long-Range Planning group for the Port of Portland and has previously worked in Hillsboro, Benton County, and Cottage Grove, Oregon. He joined the Board in 2016.

Vice President

Serah Breakstone, AICP (she/her)

Serah is a Principal Planner with Metro, where she manages the 2040 grant program. Prior to Metro, Serah spent 15 years working as a consultant doing both private and public sector planning work. She joined the Board in 2020.


Nancy Ferber, AICP (she/her)

Nancy is a Coastal Planner at the Columbia River Estuary Study Taskforce, where she specializes in environmental planning. She previously worked as the Planner for the City of Astoria. She has been on the Board since 2020.


Dani Schulte, AICP (she/her)

Dani is the Transportation Planner for the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation (CTUIR). Before entering the Planning field, Dani worked for the EV charger manufacturer, Shorepower, and the electronics recycler, Free Geek. She joined the board in 2024.

Board Member At-Large

Vanitha Murthy, AICP, PTP (she/her)

Vanitha is an in-transition independent planning practitioner and works at the intersection of transportation planning, sustainability, and equity efforts serving on various committees of the Oregon APA and other professional institutions nationally and across state lines. She formerly worked at the Oregon Department of Transportation, Georgia DOT as a consultant and for private firms in Georgia. She joined the board in 2023.

Board Member At-Large

Genevieve Middleton (she/they)

Genevieve is an Affordable Housing Policy & Planning Senior Manager for the City of Eugene and an independent equity planning consultant with their firm Indigenized Planning Solutions. Genevieve has a Master of Community and Regional Planning and a Bachelor's of Landscape Architecture from the University of Oregon. Genevieve is a previous Co-Chair of the OAPA Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Group, previous OAPA Board student liaison, and interim Member at large board member. She rejoined the board in 2024.

Board Member At-Large

Andrea Pastor (she/her)

Andrea is a Senior Development Project Manager at Metro, where she works on strategic site acquisition and funding for transit-oriented affordable housing. She joined the board in 2023.

Board Member At-Large

Kate Holmquist, AICP, RLA, LEED AP ND/BD+C

Kate, Principal of WerkSTADT Urban Planning + Development, has 17 years of sustainable, equitable planning & development experience, including affordable housing development in Portland and city planning for the City of New York. They joined the Board in 2021.

Board Member At-Large

Erik Forsell, AICP (he/him)

Erik is a land use planner. He has worked in rural, suburban, and urban jurisdictions throughout Oregon. Erik joined the Board in 2024.

Board Member At-Large

Chelsea Schnabel, AICP, CFM (she/her)

Chelsea is the Community Development Director for the City of Coos Bay. She previously worked as the City Planner for the City of North Bend. Chelsea has experience with both short-range and long-range planning. She is the current Oregon Cities Planning Director Association Member-At-Large and am serving on various workgroups (ex. CAUTAC; Childcare Facilities Barriers). Chelsea joined the board in 2024.

Education and Outreach Committee Chair

Deb Meihoff, FAICP (she/her)

Deb is principal and owner of Communitas, where she collaborates with communities on reinvestment plans, land use and policy strategies, and economic prosperity initiatives. She rejoined the board in 2021.

Professional Development Officer

Brad Kilby, AICP (he/him)

Brad is the Planning Manager for Harper Houf Peterson Righellis Inc. His experience has been split almost evenly in the public sector and private sector. He actively participates in the EPG mentorship program, Architects in Schools, and the OAPA Professional Development Committee. He joined the board in 2023.

Legislative and Policy Affairs Committee Chair


This chair position is vacant at this time.

Emerging Planners Group Chair

Allan Wilson (he/him)

Allan is Senior Planner at the City of Estacada, working on all manner of land use and long-range planning projects. He joined the Board in 2022.

Membership Engagement Chair

Shelley Denison, AICP (she/her)

Shelley is an independent planning consultant, housing advocate, and local government nerd. She chairs the Membership Engagement Committee and co-hosts the Better Planners Podcast. Shelley has master's degrees in City and Regional Planning and Public Administration from The Ohio State University, and she has been on the Board since 2023.

Ex-Officio Members (Non-Voting)

County Planning Commission Representative

Brad Bennington

Brad works on education, advocacy and policy support for the building industry in Southern Oregon to create affordable housing. He also serves as a Jackson County Planning Commissioner. He joined the Board in 2016.

Faculty Liaison | Portland State University

Megan Horst, Ph.D. (she/her)

Megan is Associate Professor of Urban Studies and Planning at Portland State University, and serves as program coordinator for the Master of Urban and Regional Planning. She has been on the Board since 2022.

Student Liaison | Portland State University

Jackson Morrison (he/him)

Jackson (He/Him) is a master's student in urban and regional planning at Portland State University, Jackson is excited about planning as an interdisciplinary, collaborative, and forward-thinking field.

Faculty Liaison | University of Oregon

Rebecca Lewis, Ph.D. (she/her)

Rebecca is Associate Professor in Planning, Public Policy and Management at the University of Oregon and directs the Master of Community and Regional Planning Program. She has been on the Board since 2019.

Student Liaison | University of Oregon

Sienna Fitzpatrick (they/them)

Sienna is a first-year master’s student at the University of Oregon’s Community and Regional Planning program and an alumnus of the Resource Assistance for Rural Environments (RARE) program. Their interests lie in community and economic development, rural issues, and the new natural resource economy. They’re looking forward to serving as a student representative to OAPA and learning more about planning from current practitioners. They’ve been on the board since fall 2023.

City Planning Commission Representative

Vacant (in recruitment)

This position is currently vacant.


Chapter Administrator and Event Manager

Stephanie Green (she/her)

Stephanie supports OAPA's board and committee volunteers with her 25+ years of non-profit and event management experience. She's also OAPA's Conference Administrator. She's been in this role since 2013.

Equity Coordinator

Kāme'o Kahawai (They/Them/O 'ia)

Kāme'o is the Executive Director for UTOPIA PDX and Culture Consultant at He Māla Hou Consulting. Throughout their professional career they have centered equity in organizational policies, programs, and practices in organizations ranging from 5 - 320 employees. They joined OAPA as the Equity Coordinator in 2023.